HANNEY GARDENING CLUB

Minutes of the 47th Annual General Meeting held on Monday 5 September 2022, at 20.00hrs in the Hanney War Memorial Hall

At the beginning of the meeting 43 members were present so the AGM was considered quorate.

Apologies for absence

Apologies had been received from Hilary & Stewart Cakebread-Hall, Tim & Mary Hoyle, Jenny Smith, Tarquin & Vonda May, Adrian & Sue Bodimeade, Joanna & Trevor Brettell.

Welcome to members and guests

In the absence of Adrian Bodimeade the Chair was taken by the Treasurer, Bill Watkin. He welcomed members old and new, noting that the new members were Kate and Kyri Anastasiadis, Alisa Hughes, Joan Evans. Helen Evans, Jean Geary.

Minutes of the last AGM held on 6 September 2021

The Minutes had been circulated to members beforehand, together with other documents relating to the AGM. As there were no comments the acting chairman concluded that they were a true record of proceedings.

Proposed: Pat Charles Seconded: Neil Wilson

Bill Watkin, therefore signed off the Minutes on behalf of the Chair..

Report by the Chair

Bill Watkin summarised the report which was written by Adrian Bodimeade, Chair, and previously circulated to members.

He highlighted the truly remarkable effort that Sue Garner, who was stepping down as Programme Coordinator, had given to the Club in producing excellent speakers over the past four years, as well as arranging visits to gardens. The Club appropriately thanked her with a round of applause. Her post would be filled by Cathy Ward, who had already produced the programme for the current season, and who would be joining the committee.

Treasurer's Report and Confirmation of Subscriptions

The Treasurer's Report and Accounts for the year ended 31 July 2022, had been audited and hitherto been circulated to members prior to the AGM.

As a result of a successful year, leaving a healthy balance, he was able to confirm that the subscriptions would remain the same as last year: £8 single, £15 joint membership. The Club's highlight amongst the current season's speakers would be in February 2023, when Chris Beardshaw would be coming to talk about Boveridge House garden, for which it was intended to charge visitors a small fee.

Election of Committee

As well as Cathy Ward who would replace Sue Garner as Programme Coordinator, Bill also welcomed Mary Hoyle to the committee and announced the other members who would be staying on from last season and the offices they would hold;

Chairman Adrian Bodimeade

Treasurer Bill Watkin
Secretary Lorene Ashby
Hall Representative Joanna Brettell
Tea Rota Chris Watkin

Other extant committee members were Joy Wilson, Barbara Donovan, Keith Chisholm

Proposed: Tom Bradshaw Seconded: Jackie Bratley

Any Other Business

Bill commented that although the committee was sufficient to carry through the next season's activities, he made a request for two more members to join the committee.

A note was made that there was no speaker arranged for January so it would likely be an open meeting for members to raise issues and bring forward ideas for future speakers.

(signed)	Chairman
, ,	
(date)	•••••